Another Viva Question And Other Newbie Questions

Decorating By sugahjunior Updated 11 Sep 2009 , 10:55pm by __Jamie__

sugahjunior Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugahjunior Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 1:20pm
post #1 of 10

I'm really new to decorating (I've decorated 2 Wilton character pans so far and they have both turned out great), but I want to take the Wilton courses as soon as I can. But I have a job that is not conducive to making a 6:30 class. So, in the meantime, I want to try to do a smooth buttercream this weekend just for the heck of it. I think the Viva method is probably best for me. But I don't drink soda, so the pop bottle tool is not something I have handy (and I hate buying a bottle just to dump it so I can make the tool). Does anyone use any alternatives?

Also, I got an oven thermometer last night, and even though I was sure my oven was running cool it turns out it's at least 25 degrees too hot (I was supposed to be cooking something at 425 and the thermometer read 450). If I am baking my cake at 350, does that mean I really just set the oven to 325 and bake for the same amount of time as the recipie calls at 350?

9 replies
KASCARLETT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KASCARLETT Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 10

I don't know what the soda bottle thing is because I just use the palm of my hand to smooth the icing using the VIVA towel. The warmth of your hand helps to smooth it.

Regarding the oven temp, I would believe that you would bake it at 325 for the time period. Just check it at the end of the time, if not done just adjust the time.

snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 10

Ditto on the soda bottle; I tried it and like using my hand better (but still favorite method is the 'melvira method').