Decorating A Carrot Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting

Decorating By Dawnabella Updated 21 Aug 2007 , 10:33pm by melysa

Dawnabella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dawnabella Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 10:07pm
post #1 of 5

I am new to cake decorating so be gentle! icon_biggrin.gif
My sister wants a carrot cake for her birthday and I have NO IDEA how to decorate with cream cheese frosting. I have only dabbled in BC. I really want to make this nice and pretty for her, but HOW!?

She is in to turtles and I would love to somehow incorporate that. Any ideas??

Thanks!

4 replies
jlewis888 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlewis888 Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 10:23pm
post #2 of 5

You can decorate with CC frosting just like buttercream--just keep in mind that it takes a little more sugar to get it to crust. I like to put chopped pecans on my carrot cake--around the sides. Good luck.

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 10:23pm
post #3 of 5

You can ice your cake in cream cheese frosting and do all the decorating in regular buttercream. Traditional cream cheese frosting is not well suited for decorating.

~ Sherri

Lalana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lalana Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 10:31pm
post #4 of 5

I have had nothing but trouble trying to decorate with cream cheese icing. I've even tried the crusting recipe from here and can't get it to work. I suggest filling with cream cheese and decorating with the wonderful crusting BC recipe to make your life less stressful!

melysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melysa Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 10:33pm
post #5 of 5

try this recipe for the frosting,

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-901-Whipped-Cream-Frosting.html