A Question From A Rookie

Decorating By scubasquirrel Updated 22 Aug 2007 , 1:47am by Brickflor

scubasquirrel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scubasquirrel Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 5:40pm
post #1 of 9

icon_biggrin.gif Hi Everyone!
My name is Shelley and I'm a rookie to this site and to decorating. I'm from Memphis, TN. I'm enjoying my classes in the wilton method, and can already see alot of things I'm going to want to do when I get some experience under my belt. BUT, before I get toooo far down the road...I'd love to ask you wonderfully talented and expereienced people a question.

If there was a main thing you would tell me like..."I wish I knew that from the beginning!" or "wow, that made this project so much easier!" or "why did I buy that?"...what wisdom would you pass on to me?

I really enjoy this site and I know I'll continue to learn more every time I come here and read everyone's posting, and I look forward to making some new friendships.

Thanks again in advance for your input...it is greatly appreciated!
Bye for now!
Shelley

8 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 6:21pm
post #2 of 9

Welcome to Cake Central. Probably your best learning opportunity is reading the threads in the cake disaster forum.

A direct answer to your question could take pages. icon_biggrin.gif

MiaT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MiaT Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 8:52pm
post #3 of 9

The most general advice I could offer is "don't be afraid to experiment". Failure is a wonderful teacher and you will always be able to find someone who will take a practice cake off your hands, no matter how ugly or off-kilter or slanted, especially if you have kids or coworkers icon_lol.gif

NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 21 Aug 2007 , 8:57pm
post #4 of 9