Cake To Serve 100 People

Decorating By patton Updated 16 Jul 2005 , 1:13am by traci

patton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patton Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 9:18pm
post #1 of 14

Hi,
I'm relatively new at baking cakes for people other than my family. Someone has requested that I bake a birthday cake that will serve 100 people. The birthday boy will be 30 and they wondered if I could make the cake in the shape of "30". I would very much appreciate any suggestions. I thought I might be able to find numeral pans somewhere, but haven't located any yet. I thought maybe I could put the numerals on top of a cake...or something. Any ideas?

I'm also wondering what to charge. I called the local bakery and they sell
a sheet cake with a few roses on it, to serve 96, for $57. I'm thinking that $57 is a rather low price. I was thinking of charging $.75 per serving???? Is that a fair price??? I'd love to hear anyone's opinion.

Thanks so much.

Lin

13 replies
KayDay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayDay Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 9:27pm
post #2 of 14

To me pricing should depend on whether or not cake is homemade and how elaborate as well as how experienced the decorator is sometimes even amount of notice given to make cake and whether or not cake is delivered and set up etc can factor in as well for me. I don't think $0.75 is too much for ANYONE to charge though.

mvucic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mvucic Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 9:48pm
post #3 of 14

I saw Wilton number pans on ebay.com yesterday. Not sure if they are gone though...

mvucic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mvucic Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 9:54pm
post #4 of 14

Okay, here's a bunch if you don't need them right away...

http://search.ebay.com/wilton-number-pans_W0QQfkrZ1QQfromZR8

I don't recall ever seeing them in a store.

aunt-judy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aunt-judy Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 9:58pm
post #5 of 14