I Need Your Help About A Bakery Job!

Decorating By tugboat Updated 21 Aug 2007 , 5:45pm by GI

tugboat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tugboat Posted 20 Aug 2007 , 5:58pm
post #1 of 17

Ok, I recently applied for a bakery position at a local retail grocery store...I have never worked in a bakery before but I have taken Wilton courses. I was told that I could have the job (which will be a "bakery clerk" that will help take orders and work the counter and other things) I found out today when I went in for an interview this position only pays $8.28 which I am used to making alot more than this with previous office jobs. They also told me my hours would be either 10am-7pm or 12-9pm probably working Saturdays and Sundays. I don't have any kids but I am married and money is somewhat important in this decision. Should I take the job or look for another office job that pays better and won't have to work weekends? I'm not sure what to do...if I take the job I'll gain experience and strengthen my skills and techniques but if I have to work crazy hours it is worth it? My main goal in the future is to open my own cake business and I feel like this is my first step to getting towards that goal! If you were in my situation what would you do?

16 replies
leightorres Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leightorres Posted 20 Aug 2007 , 6:05pm
post #2 of 17

I guess the main thing is can you afford it? I could not afford it so I would not be able to take it. Maybe you can work somewhere on weekends and then make some pocket money while working a weekday office job? If you can afford it then maybe you should work there for a few months and then look for a better paying job in a more upscale bakery. Good luck!

keyshia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
keyshia Posted 20 Aug 2007 , 6:11pm
post #3 of 17