Will I Go To Disney Jail??

Decorating By ShooshBrat Updated 24 Aug 2007 , 11:52pm by ShooshBrat

ShooshBrat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShooshBrat Posted 19 Aug 2007 , 9:49pm
post #1 of 27

Hi All!

I am new at all of this, and don't know if there are any rules/laws that I NEED to be aware of.

First, I am not selling anything, I am only making a cake for my niece for her birthday.....

It is made with the Wilton Castle kit, and I have made some Colorflow "Disney Princesses" to place around the outside.

Now, here's the catch.....

......we are taking it to Disney World, to give it to her, during dinner at one of the Charachter Dinners.

My question, as silly as it sounds, is, will I go to Disney jail for Copyright problems?????

I didn't think about it to begin with, but now that I've made them, and thought about the fact that I am taking it into the park, I thought.....is it wrong since I am not buying from them, and made my own???

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, if anyone has any info/suggestions....share!!

If nothing else, I'm just paranoid.

Thanks so much for any/all help!!

26 replies
FrostinGal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FrostinGal Posted 19 Aug 2007 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 27

No worries, since there was no cash involved! They are going to think it is too cute!
I'm still trying to figure out how they made our wedding cake so that I can make a replica for our anniversary!
Lucky girl, having her birthday at Disney World!!

cakebabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebabe Posted 19 Aug 2007 , 9:56pm
post #3 of 27

I say DON'T do it!!! Buy her some figurines for the cake or leave them off. I have heard that disney is one company that enforces their copy rights. I would not chance it. JMO icon_biggrin.gif

FrostinGal Posted 19 Aug 2007 , 9:57pm
post #4 of 27

Cakebabe, they aren't that strict! Millions of visitors use clipart to make their own tees for family vacation, and I've never seen one ever get sent to Disney jail!