Using A Pasta Roller For Fondant

Decorating By MichelleM77 Updated 18 Aug 2007 , 6:51pm by MichelleM77

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 5:52pm
post #1 of 3

Just wanted to pass on my experience with the KA pasta roller and fondant......

So I just received in the mail the pasta attachment for my KA that was a freebie with the KA I received as a birthday gift a few months ago. I was sooooo excited to try it out with fondant, since that's what I decorate all of my cookies with and thought it would save my wrists a bit (since I also type for a living).

I started with the pink that I needed for part of the cupcake cookies I was doing that day. Worked great, no problems. I had to spend about 15 minutes cleaning the rollers to get all of the pink fondant out.....or so I thought. No visible pink fondant to my eyes. I even used Q-tips to get in the little spaces. I rolled my white through and.......you guessed it......pink dots on my white fondant. Bummer. Maybe the cheap-o pasta roller that I have used with polymer clay would be a better way to go (of course I would have to buy a new one for fondant). It has fewer parts and nooks and cranies for stuff to hide in.

I had high hopes for the pasta roller....guess I'll just have to make my Italian hubby some fresh homemade pasta. He will be in heaven!

2 replies
TheCakerator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakerator Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 6:35pm
post #2 of 3

I understand completely what you are saying ... I got the pasta attachment for christmas last year and used it once, cleaned it up the best that I thought I could get it, and when I went to roll my white fondant through it came out with big ol' splotches of red fondant! Also, the sides of my fondant coming out were really curly ... I wonder if I did not have a certain notch set right?

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 6:51pm
post #3 of 3