Extreme Beginner Questions (Marzipan Set Time)

Decorating By occi Updated 19 Jul 2005 , 12:08pm by occi

occi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
occi Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 2:26am
post #1 of 7

Hi all,

my first post - very excitied to find such a great site. I am a very new beginner icon_biggrin.gif . Have bought a book on cake decorating (english) and am setting about making a trial cake for my boys christening. In my book it says to cover with marzipan then sugarpaste, allowing 24hrs drying time in between. It doesnt however, explain why... any ideas icon_confused.gif ?

Considering it is a trial cake, would it be okay to cover with sugarpaste before it is dry? Or will the results be really skewed?

I also have some other questions and any enlightnement would be very greatfully received!
1. I have noticed a distinct difference between decorating in the UK and the US, in buttercream versus the formal marzipan/sugarpastre route. is this true, if so why?
2. when baking a chocolate mud it goes to crispy on the outside and quite wet in the middle, should I turn down the oven temp even lower and let cook longer?
3. my instructions say that mud cake keeps for a week in the fridge. I have read on other posts that the sugarpaste and marzipan should be left to dry out of the fridge. Will this make the cake go off quicker?

Sorry if these questions have been covered heaps of times, but I can't get this site's search to work!

6 replies
missjane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missjane Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 3:05am
post #2 of 7

Hi Occiicon_smile.gif

I am going to try an answer you as I am an Australian living in the US so I have kind of taught myself both ways. ( The Aussie way of decorating is very similar to the English).

Covering a cake with Marzipan aparently protects the fondant from moisture. It also acts as a protective barrier between the chocolate cake and the white icing. Looks kinda pretty and VERY neat when it is cut too!