post #1 of 148

Hello ladies, gentlemen too!

any of you home school your children?

What are your reasons for doing so?

147 replies
TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 2:27am
post #2 of 148

My son just finished home school. Yay for us! There were a bunch of reasons we decided to home school, including that he was ready for school quite early (reading at 2), we could determine the quality of his education, and we could make sure he was raised in our belief system.

Deanna

Franluvsfrosting Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Franluvsfrosting Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 4:54pm
post #3 of 148

We have four kids and we homeschool them. One of my main reasons is that when I graduated high school I couldn't do basic math (in spite of having passed the required senior math test!) I wanted the freedom to let my kids camp on whatever they were struggling with until they "got it" regardless of grade level. I have one who is advanced beyond her grade and I have another who is dyslexic and about a year behind her grade in some things.

Some of the reasons include our values, freedom to learn at their own pace, making sure they have the tools to learn and a love of learning, etc. Plus I just plain like to be around them! thumbs_up.gif

mkerton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkerton Posted 18 Aug 2007 , 7:05pm
post #4 of 148

My nieghbors home-schooled their 5 kids until college until recently (when 2 of them graduated and 2 started a private school).....1 didnt do well in the private school so she went back to home-schooling him. I think theirs is definately a religious values thing... they are the nicest family! I couldnt home-school....there is no way, they are very structured and I know kids need that but I just am not a structured person!