Cake Texture--Why Don't I "get It"

Decorating By camcat Updated 20 Aug 2007 , 1:08am by camcat

camcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
camcat Posted 17 Aug 2007 , 1:30am
post #1 of 6

Bakers constantly discuss a cake's texture in terms I find confusing. Please help me understand. Pictures are helpful. icon_biggrin.gif

What is meant by a cake's "crumb"? Bakers often say a cake has a fine crumb. What exactly does that mean--small crumbs, crumbs that stick together???

Cake density also confuses me. I've seen people refer to the WASC as dense while others called it light and fluffy. Those two terms are polar opposites. As a science teacher, I take the term "density" to mean mass per unit volume (d=m/v). Does cake density refer to something different? I've made cakes that were very heavy for their size (which would be considered dense by definition) but there's no way they could be carved because they break apart too easily -- almost like they are too moist (but they were thoroughly baked).

Do we just use different jargon for the same idea? icon_confused.gif

5 replies
i_heart_pastry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
i_heart_pastry Posted 17 Aug 2007 , 2:25pm
post #2 of 6

A cake with a fine crumb has individual particles of cake (the crumb) that are small and delicate (fine). Almost a velvety texture. I find this more with scratch butter cakes, where the butter content of the cake gives you a "melt in your mouth" sensation when you eat it. A standard boxed cake mix, for example, has a less delicate and larger crumb (although it may be moist and delicious). Much of this is determined by the chemistry of the cake - amount of acid, type of leavening, freshness of batter, type of flour, temperature at which cake was baked, etc. A good resource for learning about the chemistry of cake is "The Cake Bible" by Levy. She has a section in the back devoted to this topic.