Newbie. Thinking Of Getting A Mixer. Recommendations??

Decorating By bmcd17 Updated 15 Aug 2007 , 1:46am by mbarbi

bmcd17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bmcd17 Posted 14 Aug 2007 , 4:01pm
post #1 of 17

I'm new to this and have taken the Wilton I class, but I'm hooked. I want to try to make more cakes, but it seems like a good mixer will really help. My frugal hubby may not like it if I spend $200 + on one though. Does anyone have any recommendations on mixers? Thanks!

16 replies
missmeg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missmeg Posted 14 Aug 2007 , 4:14pm
post #2 of 17

I love Kitchenaid http://www.kitchenaid.com/home.jsp (KA). You need to explain to your dh that purchasing a KA or Hobart, while the initial price can be fairly steep, will probably be the last mixer you'll ever purchase.

My mom's KA is 35 years old and still strong. She gave me mine as a wedding present 10 years ago and I've never had an issue with it.

My problem is I need to convince dh that I need a second, larger one. I don't see that happening till I can purchase it with profit from my business.

cheferyn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheferyn Posted 14 Aug 2007 , 4:19pm
post #3 of 17

go with the kitchen aid. i know it's pricey but its worth it. I find that sad puppy eyes works with my husband but if he's still resistant, whip up some tears icon_smile.gif. I'm just joking. Puppy eyes will do it.

justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justsweet Posted 14 Aug 2007 , 4:24pm
post #4 of 17

Kitchen aid is the way to go. My husband bought me the kitchen aid pro. Love it. I use a lot, I even had to buy an extra mixing bowl. So if you are going to be using it a lot then it is worth the money. Now if you are just going to be using it may four times a month maybe try sunbeam (I know a few here use one and are happy with it)- it will make your husband happy and if it breaks you can see I need a good quality and reliable mixer because I use every week at least two to three times.