If You Were A Beginner At Decorating

Decorating By wgoat5 Updated 9 Feb 2016 , 6:23am by cakecreations_Oman

wgoat5 Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 2:47am
post #1 of 13

what would be the book to get...your most favorite that you think helped you the most? I have the wilton books. But I need to pick up a few more to read and study. Thanks for your replies icon_smile.gif

12 replies
patticakesnc Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 2:50am
post #2 of 13

I am a beginner and the Wilton books are what I have along with this website. The "how to's" here are great.

What are you wanting to learn?

lmn4881 Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 2:51am
post #3 of 13

I hear that the Debbie brown books are great but Im not sure if they are for beginners or not. Just do a search on the internet for Debbie Brown and you can look at her books on line and see if it's something you want to try. Good Luck!

christeena Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 2:52am
post #4 of 13

Dede Wilson's "Wedding Cakes You Can Make" is a great book because she breaks everything down and has a great how to section in the front of the book. The pic are incredible but the cakes are not overly difficult.

wgoat5 Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 2:59am
post #5 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by patticakesnc

I am a beginner and the Wilton books are what I have along with this website. The "how to's" here are great.

What are you wanting to learn?

I need to learn everything...over and over and over again. But I love how to books and just wondered if anybody had any suggestions. icon_smile.gif

JaneK Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 3:00am
post #6 of 13

I would go to the library and look at the cake decorating books there....if you read one you love, then perhaps buy that one.
I have a few....Wilton..which have some good ideas and things that are not too difficult for beginners (build up confidence) and I also have a Toba Garrett book which I really like...never made anything out of it but I look at the pics of her awesome piping skill.