Royal Icing On Fondant

Decorating By didi5 Updated 15 Feb 2015 , 7:44pm by Linda2010

didi5 Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 2:03am
post #1 of 16

I'm making a wedding cake this weekend that is covered in fondant and would have royal icing swirly details on it. I need to have it refrigerated as much as possible because I use IMBC. I was planning on covering the cake with fondant, then pipe on the royal icing details then refrigerate the cake. Now I'm afraid that when I take out the cake out of the fridge that the condensation will melt away the royal icing. Any words of wisdom will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

15 replies
jenny518 Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 2:44am
post #2 of 16

I am no expert on this, but I believe that your royal icing will soften up too much in the fridge. I wouldn't chance it.

Suzy40 Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 3:01am
post #3 of 16

Hi

I have owned a business for 15 years and I would not put royal icing in the fridge , at all , it will definitely change it and when the cake is coming back to room temperature I am sure it will run etc

what is IMBC , why cant you keep it out of the fridge

didi5 Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 4:44am
post #4 of 16

IMBC is Italian Meringue Buttercream. It's made of eggwhites, all butter and sugar. I mean I could leave it outside for up to 8 hours but I wouldn't take a chance for it overnight. I would rather wait until the reception for it to keep out of the fridge for a longer period of time.

Yikes! What did I get myself into?! I guess I'll use gumpaste or fondant to make the details. It would take longer than piping it. arghh!

Gefion Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 7:50am
post #5 of 16

I use royal icing in ecessive when making lambeth designs and my cakes are always in the fridge.
It does not go soft at all in the fridge. Let it dry first - it dries very very hard. I'm more worried about keeping it outside the fridge if it's humid.

Alligande Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 10:40am
post #6 of 16