Cookie Frosting

Baking By lujauna Updated 9 Oct 2006 , 3:25pm by aggiedecorator

lujauna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lujauna Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 2:18pm
post #1 of 11

I have to make and decorate 7 dozen sugar cookies for a baby shower. The lady I am making them for wants buttercream on them. Has anyone every tried premade buttercream you can buy in a tub or bucket. If so how did you like it and where do you get it.

10 replies
mis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mis Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 5:57pm
post #2 of 11

No advice for you. I've never used buttercream on my cookies before.

But here's a BUMP for ya. icon_biggrin.gif

rosita6882 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosita6882 Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 6:10pm
post #3 of 11

Its cheaper to make your own. plus you can flavor it the way you want to and get the consistancy that you want. I spoon some directly on to the cookie and smoothe it to the edges and then srape what is extra off the sides. then i decorate and let dry for a day or two.

cryssi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cryssi Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 6:42pm
post #4 of 11

prior to discovering CC and MMF on cookies, we always glazed our sugar cookies with a simple sugar, milk, butter, vanilla glaze prior to decorating. I have no recipe or measurements, as I just threw everything in a bowl and whisked until I got the right consistency. Not too much butter though. Mix butter w/ powdered sugar until crumbly and add milk a little at a time until thin enough to spread. Add some vanilla to taste. Might take awhile to dry. We just color canned frosting and put in pastry bags to decorate, so you could use whatever for that. We always decorate cookies this way for christmas, showers, etc.

not sure if that's what you're looking for...

jillchap Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillchap Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 6:51pm
post #5 of 11