How Do I Make Sure My Sides Are Straight?

Decorating By movingritealong Updated 4 Oct 2006 , 7:11pm by peacockplace

movingritealong Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
movingritealong Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 9:07pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, all, I'm still pretty new to all of this fun and games.

I've made several cakes, (That I'll eventually put in my photos!) and it seems that my downfall is having crooked sides. All my cakes end up looking like they're leaning!

How, besides simply eyeballing them, can I make them stand STRAIGHT!?

TIA! icon_smile.gif

8 replies
mkerton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkerton Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 9:13pm
post #2 of 9

I need help with that too!

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 9:53pm
post #3 of 9

A level.... I bought one at Target (bright pink) and is for food use only. After you torte and fill each layer I get down to eye level and spin the cake making sur the whole thing is level. If it was too high, then you can flatten it slightly in parts. After it is level, I do a thin layer around the sides and fridge it for about 20 minutes then crumb coat. In warm weather I need to do this extra step or my crumb coat will shift the layers.

I use the level after you have eyeballed it and before you crumb coat.

mkerton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkerton Posted 2 Oct 2006 , 9:54pm
post #4 of 9

gonna have to get my own pink level! Thanks for the tip.

AMW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AMW Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 10:52am
post #5 of 9

Movingritealong- You were talking about the sides of your cake, not the top, correct?

If you use a bench scraper to smooth your icing, you can hold the scraper flat against turntable, and let the cake circle (cardboard or foamcore) guide you. Because the scraper is already at a 90* angle, You will get nice straight sides

movingritealong Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
movingritealong Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 12:45pm
post #6 of 9