Mmf Question...can You Use Fluff

Baking By krissy_kze Updated 29 Jul 2005 , 12:45pm by Sugar

krissy_kze Posted 7 Jul 2005 , 11:25am
post #1 of 15

instead of real marshmallows? I hate the taste of regular fondant but we're vegetarian and don't eat gelatin. Fluff is gelatin free but I have no clue if it would work in a MMF recipe!

Thanks for your help!


14 replies
MrsMissey Posted 7 Jul 2005 , 12:45pm
post #2 of 15

I have read where people use Marshmallow Cream, but adjust the amount of water accordingly.

krissy_kze Posted 11 Jul 2005 , 1:08am
post #3 of 15

Ok. I tried it. It failed miserably. I had to add so much powdered sugar that it tasted really gross. It also wouldn't stiffen up. I suppose the gelatin helps to firm it up. Dang! I wanted to use MMF instead of the regular gross tasting fondant.

lilscakes Posted 11 Jul 2005 , 1:32am
post #4 of 15


My Wilton instructor gave me the following recipe. I've never used it, as I discovered the mmf on this site and haven't looked back since. This recipe is supposed to work very well and should taste much better than that icky boxed stuff. This one is supposed to be made in the mixer, but I would try by hand if you prefer. Either way, it's going to be a sticky mess for a bit.

Grease dough hook on mixer very well with crisco. To 1 jar (not sure what size) marshmallow cream, add 3 cups icing sugar. Knead with dough hook and then continue by hand adding a bit of sugar at a time until fondant is of right consistency.

If you try it, let us know how it works. icon_smile.gif

niki_10 Posted 13 Jul 2005 , 10:40pm
post #5 of 15

I'm vegetarian as well. I just pull it off and don't eat it. I'd love to hear if you find something that works though!

kakabekabunny Posted 13 Jul 2005 , 11:05pm
post #6 of 15

This is a really dumb question........but, why don't vegetarians eat gelatin?
Sorry, I just don't know a lot about veg. diets....

chikie Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 12:08am
post #7 of 15

I believe it's made from the cows bones....Not sure???

krissy_kze Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 1:36am
post #8 of 15

A long time ago I called Jello and asked them what gelatin is made of. They said they scrape the hides of any animal used as a food source to make gelatin.

Hope I answered your question icon_smile.gif

I'm going to try rolled buttercream instead and see how I like working with that instead.

niki_10 Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 1:22pm
post #9 of 15

Yes, from what I understand geletian is a combination of bones, hooves, and hides. So gross!!

krissy_kze Posted 14 Jul 2005 , 9:30pm
post #10 of 15

A substitute for gelatin is agar-agar. It's made from seaweed. I've never worked with it but I may try it in a fondant recipe to see how it works if I don't like the rolled buttercream.

kakabekabunny Posted 16 Jul 2005 , 10:42pm
post #11 of 15

Yeeeeck!!! Don't think I'll ever eat gelatin again! Thanks for the info. Don't blame you girls for not wanting to eat it.........

Sugar Posted 20 Jul 2005 , 12:06am
post #12 of 15

Oh no! I thought marshmallows were just sugar. I had no idea there was geletin in them. I just heard too that some food colorings are made from beetles or some type of bug. It's scary to think of what's all hiding in our food.

sheilaattaway Posted 20 Jul 2005 , 12:46am
post #13 of 15

try rolled buttercream has milk and butter in it, Can you drink milk and eat butter. I dont know anything about it eaither.

auzzi Posted 29 Jul 2005 , 11:49am
post #14 of 15

Cochineal [Carmine (E120)] is the dye extracted from crushed insects. It is "natural" and is usually listed a "colouring" on food products. It has been in use for centuriesbut fell out of every-day use in favour of cheaper, synthetic colours.

Although a small number of people can be allergic/sensitive to it, it increasingly being used again, because artificial colourings are also producing allergies and sensitivites as well.

Sugar Posted 29 Jul 2005 , 12:45pm
post #15 of 15


Quote by @%username% on %date%