Please Help With Sheet Cake!

Decorating By GingerCakes Updated 6 Aug 2007 , 12:27pm by LittleLinda

GingerCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GingerCakes Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 8:13pm
post #1 of 19

I am new at this and I am wondering how you more seasoned cake bakers make a sheet cake. I have a 1/2 sheet cake pan and I was thinking that I would just bake two of them and put them together? Or does a whole sheet cake pan fit in a regular oven? I have one coming up in 2 weeks and I could use any advice I could get about this. Thank you so very much!

18 replies
Suzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suzycakes Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 8:19pm
post #2 of 19

I bake two (2) 12 x 18 pans and 'glue' them together with buttercream - side by side - so that I have 24 x 18 cake when finished.

Sometimes if the serving table is going to be small - I will stack the cakes and just let them cut very small pieces.

Good luck.

manderfrog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
manderfrog Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 8:19pm
post #3 of 19

I usually put two together, but I only have a 1/2 sheet pan. I am not sure if one will fit or not.

manderfrog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
manderfrog Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 8:20pm
post #4 of 19

OOPS...I double posted. icon_redface.gif

cakekrayzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakekrayzie Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 8:30pm
post #5 of 19

i also make two 12x18 and put them together a full sheet pan does not fit in my oven. but make sure you glue them together really well so it don't split.

darkchocolate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darkchocolate Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 8:31pm
post #6 of 19

From what I have read, I am almost positive a full sheet pan won't fit into the average home oven. On website had a disclaimer stating this because of returns for pans being too big.