White Chocolate Ganache

Decorating By AmyMiller Updated 9 Aug 2007 , 4:06pm by HBKitmitto

AmyMiller Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyMiller Posted 2 Aug 2007 , 9:56pm
post #1 of 8

I'm planning a large Halloween/Surprise Birthday party for my husband and I have a great idea for his cake, but I've never used ganache before so I am not sure if my idea will work out. I want to use white chocolate ganache colored red to look like blood dripping down each tier of the cake.

Has anyone ever used white chocolate ganache and if so have you colored it before? Also, if anyone has a good recipe for white chocolate ganache or any other ideas for something else that would have the same "dripping blood" effect I would be open to trying them.

Any hints or tricks for using it and for coloring it would be greatly appreciated.

I am also thinking about making a fake knife to stab into the top layer of the cake. Does anyone have any suggestions for what material (gum paste, fondant, marzipan etc.) might hold up best?

Thanks!!
Amy

7 replies
alanahodgson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alanahodgson Posted 2 Aug 2007 , 10:20pm
post #2 of 8

I would color the cream before adding it to the chocolate when making the ganache. I'm sure it will look great. Here is an example that might be similar to what you are envisioning.

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=78165

For the knife I would definately say gumpaste would hold up the best. Pastillage is even dryer but its very brittle and I find it breaks easily. Maybe I just roll it too thin. Good luck! Post pictures when you're done!

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 6:41am
post #3 of 8

Hi and Welcome, Amy. icon_smile.gif

Here's a comprehensive thread on ganache:
(Overview, master recipe, white chocolate, how to glaze and more.)

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-334973-.html

HTH

Hollyanna70 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile