Need Suggestions For My First Cake!

Decorating By hennalounge Updated 29 Jul 2007 , 5:21pm by hennalounge

hennalounge Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hennalounge Posted 28 Jul 2007 , 12:58am
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone,
Well, I am not a cake decorator, but I am a henna artist, so squeezing stuff out of a tube is what I do. One of my clients has hired me to decorate her wedding cake with henna designs (an indian wedding) and I'm so excited. There is someone else baking the cake, and she will make a chocolate fondant, which will be my canvas to work on. I have seen some cake photos in which henna designs were painted on using metallic gold and colored paints, but i'm thinking only metallics would show up well on chocolate. I think it might be easier to use frosting to just squeeze out the designs instead. So here is my question - what kind of frosting should I make to create the designs with? In other words, what type of frosting won't run, melt, or sag, and which will stick properly to the fondant. Also, where is a good source for metallic edible paint? Thanks so much for any help you can give me. icon_smile.gif I'll be sure to share pics if it works out!

9 replies
gakali Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gakali Posted 28 Jul 2007 , 1:08am
post #2 of 10

Welcome to Cake Central! That sounds like quite the project! The Cake Central store sells luster dust which is awesome as a metallic "paint". It comes in lots of colours, you can use it right on top of fondant, or you can do your design with Royal Icing and then "paint" right on top of that with the luster dust. I'm sure there are many other CC'ers who will have other great ideas too. Good luck - can't wait to see pictures!

melyissa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melyissa Posted 28 Jul 2007 , 1:32am
post #3 of 10