Cookie Rookie - Help

Baking By DelightsByE Updated 30 Jul 2007 , 1:46am by DelightsByE

DelightsByE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DelightsByE Posted 26 Jul 2007 , 10:57pm
post #1 of 13

Hi!

I need an easy, tasty icing recipe that is squeeze bottle friendly AND sets up quickly once it's on a cookie. This is to be used by kids.

HELP!!!!

TIA!!! icon_biggrin.gif

12 replies
omaida Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
omaida Posted 26 Jul 2007 , 11:09pm
post #2 of 13

I've used the Toba Garrett's Glace' Icing twice because I'm also new at this and it's really good to work with. Go into recipes and type the above name to get the recipe.

MicheleH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MicheleH Posted 26 Jul 2007 , 11:14pm
post #3 of 13

I use Antonia74's royal icing. Goes on very smooth and dries nice!

SueW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueW Posted 26 Jul 2007 , 11:22pm
post #4 of 13

Ditto on the 2 above, Toba and Antonia's icing for me icon_biggrin.gif

chefali Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefali Posted 26 Jul 2007 , 11:26pm
post #5 of 13

Yep- Antonia's royal works great...and tastes pretty good. But does anyone know about how many 4" cookies one recipe will flood? I have to do 200+ for a girlfriend's wedding and I was thinking that I might need to x10 the recipe.....that would be 24 lb. powder sugar!

MicheleH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MicheleH Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 1:36am
post #6 of 13

I know that her recipe goes a loooonng way!! It seems like I always have icing left over after 2 or 3 batches of cookies!

DelightsByE Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 2:32am
post #7 of 13

Thanks everybody! My one burning question is - are they squeeze bottle friendly?? I am using little 4oz bottles....

slimkim Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
slimkim Posted 27 Jul 2007 , 8:24am
post #8 of 13