I Kinda Feel Weirded Out....happen To Anyone Else?

Business By karateka Updated 20 Sep 2006 , 3:09pm by CrystalsCakes5

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 2:41am
post #1 of 16

I just got my equipment back from the girl who hired me to make a replica of her mom's wedding cake. I had been hoping to be home when she left it, so I could ask if she was surprised, did they like it, etc.

But it was just sitting on my front step in a garbage bag (that I provided) when I got home.

So I feel a little weird...maybe it's because I'm just starting out? I've always been around to see the results of my cakes, meaning been there when they are eaten. I can eavesdrop and hear the honest remarks. I know pretty much how they are received. Now I just have to assume that if they don't complain they were satisfied, right? Feels weird. I guess I'll get used to it. Am I the only weirdo, or has this happened to anyone else?

15 replies
gabbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gabbs Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 2:47am
post #2 of 16

No it has happend to me, i worry a lot about the customers opinion about the taste, if they liked the design, and i keep thinking if they really meant it when they say " it's really pretty" ... so yes i also have felt it!

angief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angief Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 2:47am
post #3 of 16

Every time I set up a wedding cake and leave the reception site I always wonder what the bride and groom will think when they first see it. Sometimes I get feedback about my cakes and sometimes I don't. It's so much harder when you don't know the person personally that you are doing the cake for. I just assume that no news is good news. icon_biggrin.gif

Monica0271 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Monica0271 Posted 20 Sep 2006 , 2:47am
post #4 of 16

I have had this happen too & it annoys me. I have not made a wedding cake. But I have made a few cakes that noone says anything icon_confused.gif about it.