Adding Pudding To Cake Mix

Baking By sprgirl1978 Updated 17 Sep 2006 , 10:01pm by sprgirl1978

sprgirl1978 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sprgirl1978 Posted 17 Sep 2006 , 4:03am
post #1 of 7

I am brand new to cake decorating, and so far I have only used box mixes. I need to make a cake for this weekend for family only, so I'd like to experiment a little. I've read a bunch of times on this site about adding pudding mix to the cake batter. What exactly does that do, and how much do I add? I bought a butter recipe golden mix and a butter recipe fudge mix, plus a box of vanilla and a box of chocolate instant pudding mix. Now if I could just figure out what to do with them!

Thanks for your help!

6 replies
hockeygirl658 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hockeygirl658 Posted 17 Sep 2006 , 4:20am
post #2 of 7

I know nothing about cakes.....except what I have learned here! icon_biggrin.gif Upon the recomendation of other CC'ers I add a box of pudding and an extra egg to every box of cake mix. It seems to make a richer, denser, moister, easier to frost cake. And since when are any of those things bad? icon_lol.gif Plus, since I started doing that, I have not had a cake crack in half upon removing it from the pan.

karmicflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karmicflower Posted 17 Sep 2006 , 4:22am
post #3 of 7

Hi there, well your in the right place for info. What a pudding does is make the cake heavier and very moist, good if your making a stacked cake, because it makes the cake denser and more able to resist the weight of icing plus fondant. (and that info is straight out of "the cake mix doctor" cookbook.)

HTH icon_smile.gif

jenn

mqguffey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mqguffey Posted 17 Sep 2006 , 4:34am
post #4 of 7