Heavy Whipping Cream Question

Decorating By tcvillegas Updated 13 Sep 2006 , 3:26pm by frider

tcvillegas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcvillegas Posted 12 Sep 2006 , 3:36pm
post #1 of 17

Need help!!! I am new at trying out new icing recipes and do not know what "HEAVY WHIPPING CREAM" is. the recipe calls for the heavy whipping cream to be boiled with other ingredients (I am trying to learn how to make caramel icing). Is this the same as a non-dairy whipping cream?

Appreciate all the inputs and tips I can get. Thanks in advance.

16 replies
JoanneK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoanneK Posted 12 Sep 2006 , 3:39pm
post #2 of 17

No it's not the same. It is cream with a high fat ratio. Where do you live? Here in the states you can find this in the fridge section where they sale whipped cream in the can.

AshleyLogan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AshleyLogan Posted 12 Sep 2006 , 3:41pm
post #3 of 17

heavy whipping cream us just whipping cream (35%). I wouldn't use non-dairy, it will break down when you heat it up.

hockeygirl658 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hockeygirl658 Posted 12 Sep 2006 , 3:45pm
post #4 of 17

I get my heavy whipping cream in the dairy case of Safeway (Ralphs or Lons in other parts of the country). It comes in a Pint or Quart sized container. There is Whipping Cream (less fat) and Heavy Whipping Cream (LOTS of fat). I always use heavy cream because it seems to make everything richer and smoother.

tcvillegas Posted 12 Sep 2006 , 3:49pm
post #5 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoanneK

No it's not the same. It is cream with a high fat ratio. Where do you live? Here in the states you can find this in the fridge section where they sale whipped cream in the can.

Thanks for the reply. I live in the Philippines. Any tips on how I will know if its heavy whipping cream. We have a local product which is an "all-purpose cream". Its packaged in a tetra-packaging.

MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile