What Brand/type Of Chocolate Do You Use In Ganache?

Baking By Krisy Updated 30 Mar 2014 , 4:09pm by annmel72

Krisy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krisy Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 2:35pm
post #1 of 32

Hi,
Newbie here, never tried ganache before...but want to give the whipped a try.

Thanks for the help!!

Krisy

31 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 2:53pm
post #2 of 32

any good chocolate will work.

I've used hersey and ghiradelli chips (prefer ghiradelli)
can even use dark chocolate chips.

comes down to:

1) what your taste buds like

2) what your pocketbook/wallet can afford! (some of those better chocolates are SO pricey but yummy)

Krisy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krisy Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 3:11pm
post #3 of 32

Thank YOU!

Wasn't sure if I could use chips or not.

thumbs_up.gif Thanks again! thumbs_up.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 3:19pm
post #4 of 32

ghiradelli.

cambo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cambo Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 3:20pm
post #5 of 32

I'm a Ghiradelli fan! I think it makes the best ganache....so smooth!

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 7:27pm
post #6 of 32

for whipped ganache, good chocolate chips work very well.

Don't overwhip your ganache, or it will break and separate. If that happens, you just have to start over-very carefully remelt it.

PaulaT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PaulaT Posted 18 Jul 2007 , 7:39pm
post #7 of 32

Love the Ghiradelli chocolate, it seems to be a fav of everyone. icon_wink.gif

Jenn123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenn123 Posted 19 Jul 2007 , 5:45pm
post #8 of 32

I have also never tried ganache. Does it need to be refrigerated? The recipes I have seen call for whipping cream.

DCHall Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DCHall Posted 19 Jul 2007 , 5:52pm
post #9 of 32