Fondant Buttons

Decorating By audrey0522 Updated 17 Jul 2007 , 8:50pm by audrey0522

audrey0522 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
audrey0522 Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 2:12pm
post #1 of 9

How are those cute fondant buttons made that I see on babyshower cakes? Are they made in a mold or free handed. I am just learning cake decorating and this website is wonderfull & additive!!

8 replies
TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 2:19pm
post #2 of 9

You can make them by using the wide end of your decorating tips to cut out circles of fondant. Then use a small tip, like a one or a three or whatever looks right with the size of the circle you just cut out, to make the holes for the button. I like to also use another tip to indent a circle inside the edge of the button to make it look like the button has a lip.

Deanna

TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 2:19pm
post #3 of 9

P.S. - Welcome to Cake Central!

Deanna

Biya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Biya Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 2:19pm
post #4 of 9

I've read on previous posts that someone here (on CC) cuts out small circles then uses a real button to make the indentations that make it look like a real button. I think its a great trick just wish I could remember who it was that posted the idea so I could give them credit.

pbertone1005 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbertone1005 Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 2:28pm
post #5 of 9

I've used the end of a chap stick to make the indention, then use a toothpick for the holes.

destini377 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
destini377 Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 2:44pm
post #6 of 9