Starting A Beginners Cake Class, Need Advice

Business By jonilovescake Updated 16 Jul 2007 , 2:18pm by jonilovescake

jonilovescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jonilovescake Posted 16 Jul 2007 , 4:07am
post #1 of 7

Hey everyone! It's been a long time since I've been on. We've spent the last couple months moving from Germany back to the states and getting settled is a lot of work!

Anyway, here's my question....I ran into the director of my local Arts and Crafts place on the Air Force base we're stationed at. I asked if she has any cake decorating classes, she said she didn't have an instructor. I told her I like decorating cakes and would possibly be interested in doing a beginner's class for her. I've never taught a class, i'm actually completely self taught! I was going to take the Wilton classes but haven't got to that yet. (having just got back from overseas) I could totally do a basics class though. It's not going to be a Wilton class, but just a general class on getting started. Here's what i've come up with so far, let me know what you think...
Class would include following topics-
1.Basic recipes
-cake extender, icings (using different flavorings)
2.Icing consistencies
-what they are and when to use them
3.Then we would make some icing to begin decorating an already baked
cake that they will bring with them to class
4.Frosting the cake
-importance of crumb coat
-smoothing techniques
5.Tinting the icing for decorations
-how to tint, what products are available etc..
6.Preparing the bag
-disposable bags vs. reusable bags
-couplings
-parchment bags
7.Decorating Basics
-borders, lace, roses, drop flowers, transfers, star tips, piping,
basketweave