Scratch Cake Question

Decorating By calla74 Updated 3 Aug 2007 , 8:41pm by darkchocolate

calla74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calla74 Posted 14 Jul 2007 , 4:48am
post #1 of 10

This is probably a stupid question but if a scratch cake calls for milk should it be whole milk? I wasn't sure if the fat content makes a difference.

I thought I would try my first scratch cake tonight and noticed after I added the milk that I grabbed my DD's whole milk.

Also, is it normal for the scratch cake batter to be so stiff? Its not runny like you get with a mix. I'm using the WBH golden butter cake and they call for using two 10x3 pans I thought I'd have more than enough batter for my two 8x2 pans but they only filled half to 2/3 full.

Thanks in advance!

9 replies
MamaBerry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MamaBerry Posted 14 Jul 2007 , 5:06am
post #2 of 10

I'm a scratch baker. My cakes came out stiff until I began using CAKE flour. Also, the higher the fat in the milk/soy the better the cake--so my experience tells me.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 14 Jul 2007 , 5:40am
post #3 of 10

Here's the recipe and comments:

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-16872-.html

HTH

Edited to correct broken link. icon_redface.gif You should have said something Calla74.

calla74 Posted 14 Jul 2007 , 6:15am
post #4 of 10

Thanks MamaBerry! I did use cake flour but it was swansdown since it was all I could find. I think I'm just not used to the difference between mix and scratch cake consistencies. I'll definitely need to keep trying. I took them out, let them cool for about 15 minutes and when I turned them out of the pan they cracked along the sides. I've never had it happen before but I'm sure its a result of my incompitence - I'm not much of a baker yet. Scratch bakers definitely have my respect!

Thanks for the link too JanH!

calla74 Posted 2 Aug 2007 , 10:51pm
post #5 of 10