Metallic Frosting Cake!

Decorating By ladycrim Updated 7 Sep 2006 , 5:22pm by ladycrim

ladycrim Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladycrim Posted 5 Sep 2006 , 9:24pm
post #1 of 17

Hi, everyone. New member here, as you can see. I'm still learning the techniques, but I really love decorating cakes!

Last week, I made a cake that looked like a York peppermint patty. I wanted to make the frosting look like the crinkled foil wrapper, so I wanted to use buttercream instead of fondant.

The only thing I had to figure out was how to make the frosting look metallic. At my boyfriend's suggestion, I blew silver luster dust through a strainer onto the cake. It looked wonderful! And after it set for a day, it looked even better!

A friend on a LiveJournal decorating community suggested I post a picture of the finished product here:

The blue logo is my first attempt at a frozen buttercream transfer. It's not perfect, but overall I thought it came out pretty well - especially since the writing was freehand.

Anyway, nice to be here!

16 replies
okred Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
okred Posted 5 Sep 2006 , 9:28pm
post #2 of 17

wow!! and welcome!!! Great job, thanks for sharing!!!

AmyBeth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmyBeth Posted 5 Sep 2006 , 9:29pm
post #3 of 17

The cake looks great. You will love this website! Every once and I while I will take a short hiatus when life gets busy... but I always come back. icon_smile.gif

dydemus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dydemus Posted 5 Sep 2006 , 9:29pm
post #4 of 17

You blew it through a strainer? Could you elaborate, because it looks pretty cool and I'm surprised to see silver buttercream!!!

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 5 Sep 2006 , 9:29pm
post #5 of 17

Welcome ladycrim! Great job! Thank you for sharing... both your photo and technique!

Jeanne

pancake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pancake Posted 5 Sep 2006 , 9:30pm
post #6 of 17