What Do I Use To Make Cakes Come Out Cleanly From Pans?

Decorating By doots53 Updated 6 Sep 2006 , 1:51pm by Sweetcakes23

doots53 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doots53 Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 6:08am
post #1 of 31

I was wondering what is the best method for lining a pan, oil, butter, parchment. What do you guys think? I am a newbie at all this! I need the basics! I want the cake to come out smoothly from pan. Thanks! icon_redface.gif

30 replies
ashlymomx2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashlymomx2 Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 6:15am
post #2 of 31

I use Wilton cake release that is in the spray can and love it, i know some people make something at home that does similar job

Lazy_Susan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lazy_Susan Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 6:28am
post #3 of 31

I always grease my pans and then I cover the bottoms with parchment paper. My very first cake was such a disaster because it stuck so bad that now this is what I always do.

Lazy_Susan

Lousaria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lousaria Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 6:45am
post #4 of 31

I use the Wilton cake release in the bottle. I just brush it on with a silicon brush and I never have any problems.

veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 8:19am
post #5 of 31

You can mix equal parts oil, shortening and flour in your mixer, then brush on pans to prevent sticking.
It works great, is less expensive, you can make as much or as little as you want, and it will keep well for a long time. Janice

vanz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vanz Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 2:32pm
post #6 of 31

I read in a book that parchment paper works great, even without greasing. I tried it and works all the time. It is more time saving for me & easy to do. It also save some calories from the grease... LOL

doots53 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doots53 Posted 4 Sep 2006 , 3:01pm
post #7 of 31

cool thanks! icon_smile.gif

wendysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile