Gingerbread Houses - Where's The Love?

Business By NoHoDolphin Updated 13 Jul 2007 , 8:07pm by Kayakado

NoHoDolphin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NoHoDolphin Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 7:29pm
post #1 of 12

Hi all,

OK, I'm new to decorating and find myself wanting to try all different avenues. My friend and I have started a side business (hopefully legit someday) and the other day my brian got hooked on Gingerbread Houses. I have searched high and low on line - I think I actually reached the end of the line - but there's not a lot of info out there as far as the retail end. I have found some great sites for recipes and patterns (though I always welcome more info) but just nothing as far as buying/selling premade, pre decorated houses. I wanted this info so I could do some price comparisons but there's nothing out there as far as online bakeries that sell GBH.

1 of 2 things -

1 - I've totaly missed the boat and nobody really buys GBH because they're too expenisive as just a decoration?

2 - GBH is typically a thing that you would rather do than buy - even if your the busy professional that has no time to bake?

Any and all comments are really appreciated before I dive into this empty pool...

thansk,

Doreen

11 replies
buckygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buckygirl Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 7:37pm
post #2 of 12

Hi! I'm so glad to hear someone loves gingerbread as much as I do. I have a party for my children every year where we make miniature houses and each friend brings a bag of candy to share. So FUN!!!! I have seen the premade houses for sale for between $60-$85. Checkout the website for Red Envelope-they make them with a personalized plaque above the door for $85 or so PLUS shipping. I have considered selling them at Christmas as well-let me know how it goes.

Jenn2110 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenn2110 Posted 12 Jul 2007 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 12