Why Does Fondant Hate Me?!?

Decorating By Memo211 Updated 7 Jul 2007 , 5:02pm by jmt1714

Memo211 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Memo211 Posted 7 Jul 2007 , 2:59pm
post #1 of 4

HI, so first I am very new to cake docrating and CC (this is my first post). I'm really sorry about this being soo long, but i've got lots of questions.
But I having been attempting fondant cakes for a month now - I've now made three! The first cake I made was a 2 tiered cake, with black, white and red fondant for a friend's birthday,amazingly it came out the best so far. The second was a graduation cap, all black fondant with buttercream tassle. The black fondant was sooooo sticky, i added almost 3 more cups of powdered sugar and could still barely get it off the counter. the most recent cake i finished last night. It was a design from wilton (here's the link http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/patriotic/wrappedinglory.cfm#). Mine didnt turn out quite as well icon_sad.gif in fact, i had some issues, and was hoping for some ideas on how to correct them before my next attempt at a book cake. Any help is soo appreciated, as i know you all have far more experience than I do.
1. when do you color the fondant? While making the glucose/glyercin mix or when added the liquid to teh powdered sugar or when kneading just before use? (i usually try to make the fondant the 1 to 2 nights before i use it. When i made the black - for the grad cap - i added black with teh glucose and it turned kinda gray. for the wilton cake last night, i kneaded the red and blue food coloring in before use, but it seems like i never get teh correct color i am intending for - no matter the amount of color added).