Cake Delivery

Decorating By LJJohnson Updated 28 Mar 2013 , 9:51am by kanderson27

LJJohnson Posted 26 Jun 2007 , 6:02pm
post #1 of 10

My best friend is getting married, and I volunteered to make her cake (as her gift because they don't have much money). I've never done a cake for a wedding before, and am probably fairly clueless to how it all works.

What I am most worried about is delivering the cake to the hall. The ceremony and reception are in the same room, and the ceremony starts at 5pm. When would be the best time to deliver the cake? Am I supposed to contact the hall to set up a time, or do I just show up with a cake? I"m planning on making th cake the day before, so is it bad to deliever the cake in the morning so I can be apart of the "just before the wedding" stuff with my friend?'

Also, how does everyone transport their wedding cakes? This will be a small one...3 teirs but will only serve 75 people (50 - 60 guests are planned). I'm just afraid that I'll mess up the cake somewhere between my house and the hall (about a 30 minute drive).

Any other "Tricks of the trade" anyone would like to offer up would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help,

9 replies
indydebi Posted 26 Jun 2007 , 6:29pm
post #2 of 10

I always allow one-hour for set-up and I try to time so that it's one hour before the guests arrive. In your case, I would set it up no later than 4:00. In my personal opinion, I don't like to be setting up the cake or buffet when guests arrive .... I think it looks better to have it all set up and ready to go.

I always let the bride know what time I will arrive to set up the cake and she relays that to the facility. If it's a facility I've never worked in, I always do an introductory call to introduce myself, because I usually have to find out insurance requirements, etc., anyway.

I never deliver cakes assembled, but some of that is dependent on your design.

OhMyGoodies Posted 26 Jun 2007 , 6:37pm
post #3 of 10