Buttercream Roses Edges Are Jaggedy Help Asap!

Decorating By jreimer Updated 6 Aug 2016 , 4:51am by kakeladi

jreimer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jreimer Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 1:15am
post #1 of 26

I have NEVER figured out buttercream roses - I stray from them as much as I can. I was trying to make some ahead of time for a cake on Sat tonight... and my edges are jaggedy. I usually use my bakery's buttercream, but when I use that, my roses just seem to melt into each other - not really having any petals. So tonight I went back to the Wilton recipe, because I didn't have problems in class - but now the edges of the petals are jaggedy. It seems like the buttercream is too thick, but I don't want to thin it either.... suggestions???? ASAP!!

25 replies
wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 1:28am
post #2 of 26

Seems like it is too thick (I am NOT a expert on roses but...), I have heard of people using karo syrup to thin a little bit...I hope somebody with more experience with these little buggers comes along soon

Sorry Im not a lot of help.

alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 1:30am
post #3 of 26

Try 2 things - just add a little bit of corn syrup, and use the pointy end of the flower nail to pry open the narrow end of the petal tip the *tiniest* bit.

Broken edges are from not enough icing coming out of the tip (not enough pressure). Opening the tip a bit will help that, and the corn syrup will help it to stretch rather than break.

Good luck.

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 1:31am
post #4 of 26

If the edges are jaggedy, then the buttercream is too thick. Thin it a LITTLE with a few drops of corn syrup and then try again. If still too thick, add a little more. The key is to thin it a eetsy weetsy bit at a time til you get the right consistency, otherwise you'll end up over doing it.

jreimer Posted 21 Jun 2007 , 1:32am
post #5 of 26