Anyone Use Play-Doh Molds For Fondant??

Decorating By mconrey Updated 10 Aug 2006 , 1:30pm by coolmom

mconrey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mconrey Posted 8 Aug 2006 , 12:23am
post #1 of 25

Okay - my daughter is playing with Play-doh right now and I just realized that those little molds and extruders would be fantastic for making fondant ropes and little shapes. Has anyone done this? They're just plastic, so they would be food-safe, right? (Obviously, I'd use my "own" and not use ones that have been played with.) Just a thought....Didn't know if anyone else has tried it!

icon_smile.gificon_smile.gif

24 replies
cookieman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookieman Posted 8 Aug 2006 , 12:32am
post #2 of 25

I've heard that not all plastic is food safe. Some plastics have chemicals that can leech out into food items. The plastic used for food does not contain these chemicals or are safeguarded in some way.

(I am not a scientist and this just what I have heard and gathered in my research. Further research should be made into this subject before taking my word. icon_smile.gif )

karenm0712 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karenm0712 Posted 8 Aug 2006 , 12:33am
post #3 of 25

Many people on the site have actually gone out and bought their own play-doh mold to use with fondant! Something I am going to invest in soon as well! There was a thread a week or so ago of people talking about the things that they use around the house to help in the cake decorating process. icon_smile.gif I will try to find it.

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 8 Aug 2006 , 12:34am
post #4 of 25

yes, use them
not worried as made for play-doh, which we all know is going to end up in a child's mouth (and hair, and clothes, in the carpet, on the dog....etc.)

has to be food safe for around kids as so much ends up in their mouths!

patton78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patton78 Posted 8 Aug 2006 , 12:35am
post #5 of 25