What Is The Best Fondant For Making Figures?

Decorating By maggiev777 Updated 20 Jun 2007 , 1:35am by maggiev777

maggiev777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maggiev777 Posted 19 Jun 2007 , 2:08pm
post #1 of 18

I am new to fondant - I made my first cake with fondant just last week! I used Rhonda's Ultimate MMF and liked it just fine, but I heard that MMF is not hte bet for modeling. Why is that? For that cake I made my figures out of Candy Clay (candy melts and corn syrup) but there was a bit of translucence to that that I didn't really love... so I'm wanting to now try with fondant instead. I am planning to make both Toba Garrett's Fondant and Michelle Foster's Delicious Fondant (making both just to taste test!) - would those work well for making figures? Any others I should try?

17 replies
fooby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fooby Posted 19 Jun 2007 , 2:43pm
post #2 of 18

A lot of people use a 50/50 combo of fondant and gumpaste for modelling. You can buy the pre-made gumpaste or make your own. I believe there are recipes out there for gumpaste. Haven't tried them since I only use pre-made. HTH.

weirkd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weirkd Posted 19 Jun 2007 , 2:48pm
post #3 of 18

Depending on what type of figure your making you can use 50/50 or 100% gumpaste. If you are figures I would suggest using all gumpaste. Ive tried several gumpaste recipes but none have worked right for me. I usually just buy the Satin Ice premade. It keeps well and its easy to work with.

alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 19 Jun 2007 , 3:00pm
post #4 of 18

I don't like modeling with MMF because it seems to keep some of the spongy quality of the marshmallows and doesn't seem to want to hold onto details and shapes as well as other fondants. I too use Satin Ice, but have used Collette Peters' recipe too http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-10811-collette.html+peters+recipe