Difference Between Icings (Royal'nd Bc)

Decorating By potatocakes Updated 8 Jun 2005 , 1:35am by CIndymm4

potatocakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
potatocakes Posted 7 Jun 2005 , 2:43pm
post #1 of 8

Can someone tell me the difference between buttercream and royal icings and when each should be used? I've only used bc on my cakes, but read that alot of you here use royal quite a bit. I was under the impression that royal icing dried pretty hard. If that's so, you wouldn't use it to ice the entire cake, right? Just for flowers? Also, does it dry so hard that you wouldn't want to eat the decorations made with royal? Thanks for all your help. I'm still very new to all of this.

Also, what exactly is colorflow and how is it used?

7 replies
Mchelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mchelle Posted 7 Jun 2005 , 2:54pm
post #2 of 8

Royal icing does dry hard. It is usually for flowers. It is very popular in the UK to use royal icing to ice cakes, but I am told that it is not like ours. I saw in a book that they cover the cake in marzipan and then ice with royal. It doesn't dry brick hard, but hard enough so that you can handle it. You can eat it, it's sweet and it will crumble and break. Also, it's stiff and holds shape.

Here is some information on it.
http://www.baking911.com/decorating/cakes_royalicing.htm

Here is some info on color flow
http://www.baking911.com/decorating/cakes_terms.htm

Hope this helps

CIndymm4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CIndymm4 Posted 7 Jun 2005 , 2:55pm
post #3 of 8