How Much Do I Charge???

Business By aundron Updated 1 Aug 2006 , 5:21pm by aundron

aundron Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aundron Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 8:28pm
post #1 of 16

Hey guys, got a question. I'm new at cake decorating and I have an order for 36 carrot cake cupcakes!! It will be made from scratch and I need to know how much do I charge this person??

15 replies
JulieB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JulieB Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 8:50pm
post #2 of 16

My best guess is $72. I was struggling with pricing cupcakes, had read that so many charge $1 a cupcake, and figured that wasn't really worth the work......... then someone said they wouldn't charge less than your usual per-serving rate, which sounds good to me. I generally charge about $2 a serving for most simple cakes with no extras........ so I'd charge $72.......

anybody else?

littleone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littleone Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 9:42pm
post #3 of 16

I charge less for cupcakes because they are usually less work. The only extras needed are usually liners and those are cheap. No greasing pans, no getting the sides smooth and they take a lot less icing than cake, if you are only decorating the tops.

Homeade carrot cake would be more, do you use any type of nuts because those usually one of the most expensive parts?

How much deocration are we talking about on the cupcakes?

aundron Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 9:46pm
post #4 of 16

I use walnuts, crushed pineapple, raisins, etc. in the carrot cake.

No major decorations, just cream chees icing. The lady only wanted to spend $25, but I thought that seemed kind of cheap for what I'm making!!

justme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justme Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 9:53pm
post #5 of 16

$25 for 36 cupcakes icon_eek.gif thats seems aweful cheap!!
i don't understand how that lady came up with that.. i don't think you can even get that many cupcakes for that price even at walmart. it is less than 70 cents per cup cake......