Cake Density

Decorating By newcakemommy Updated 31 Jul 2006 , 7:38pm by newcakemommy

newcakemommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newcakemommy Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 3:53am
post #1 of 9

Hi all. I have a question about the density of the cakes. I'm just starting out and love the idea of doctoring up the box mixes.(Grateful for the cake extender recipes) I've been experimenting and I realize I don't even know what the characteristics of a quality cake are icon_redface.gif I mean, am I shooting for the dense, moist cake (really tastes great) or the airy, fairy type cake? My inexperience is killing me. Maybe it's just a question of individual taste but I was hoping to learn more about what the texture should be.
Thanks so much.

8 replies
redsoxgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redsoxgirl Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 4:22am
post #2 of 9

i wouldn't be terribly concerned with the density unless you plan on covering your cake with fondant (you will need a dense sturdy cake for this but dense cakes are still very moist). i would shoot for taste. you certainly can't go wrong with a nice yummy cake. and if you feel you need a more moist cake, try freezing your cake. freezing actually adds moisture to your cake.

Samsgranny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Samsgranny Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 6:29am
post #3 of 9

When you want a more dense cake will be when you will be carving a cake or one that will hold quite a bit of weight. For a more dense cake I substitute the oil for a stick of butter, add a small box of instant pudding (dry, add one extra egg and use milk instead of water. Best of luck to you and welcome to CC.

newcakemommy Posted 31 Jul 2006 , 5:23pm
post #4 of 9