Smooth Icing

Decorating By audreylovesbrian Updated 12 Jun 2007 , 1:50am by GenGen

audreylovesbrian Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
audreylovesbrian Posted 11 Jun 2007 , 11:01pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake decorating and I can't seem to get smooth bc. some times I get bubbles in the icing so when I smooth over it with the spatula I get holes. And it seems the more I try to smooth it the worse it gets.

Any suggestions?[/img]

10 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Jun 2007 , 11:10pm
post #2 of 11

Having a turntable is a big plus. Have you heard of the hot-knife method? Run your icing spatula under very hot water, then smooth the icing. THe hot metal of the knife will melt the icing to a smooth look.

The #1 method is the Melvira method using a high density foam roller. (See home page under "articles"). Once you try this, you'll never use any other method!

Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 12 Jun 2007 , 12:00am
post #3 of 11

I totally agree. I used to use the hot knife method and then I discovered the Melvira Method. I love it! I'll never do anything else. It's so easy and makes my cakes look so smooth. I highly recommend it.

thems_my_kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thems_my_kids Posted 12 Jun 2007 , 12:06am
post #4 of 11

DITTO!!!!

p_hernandez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
p_hernandez Posted 12 Jun 2007 , 12:09am
post #5 of 11

I don't this method did not work for me.

ginaann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ginaann Posted 12 Jun 2007 , 12:17am
post #6 of 11

I used the hot knive method, then the parchment on top and smoothed with my hand, and just last week read about the roller one. I couldn't find a high density roller in my area, but did get the firmest roller I could find...people at the paint store thought I was nuts...but definitely try the roller...and the spackling spatula is another GREAT idea for sides...

jeffer01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile