What Is Crumb Coat, Shortening/crisco And Torting?

Decorating By veronika Updated 26 Jul 2006 , 2:43pm by melxcloud

veronika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veronika Posted 25 Jul 2006 , 8:31pm
post #1 of 14

I'm new to the world of cake decorating and was wondering about some of the terminology, what it means and some of the techniques and how to do them.

Crumb coat - what is it and how is it done? I'm doing a cake for this weekend and would love to keep crumbs out of the buttercream.
shortening - icon_confused.gif Seeing as how I live at the back end of the earth, I don't know what you're talking about. All we get here to use in buttercream is white margarine. So - icon_confused.gif
What does torting mean?

There are others, but I can't think of them now. Thanks! thumbs_up.gif

13 replies
veronika Posted 25 Jul 2006 , 8:42pm
post #2 of 14

What is Crisco?

SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 25 Jul 2006 , 8:49pm
post #3 of 14

Crisco is a name brand of vegetable shortening.

Crumb coating is the application of a thin coat of icing to seal in the crumbs on your cake surfaces, before you apply the final icing coat. It keeps crumbs from being pulled up into your icing.

Torting is the cutting of a cake layer into thinner layers. It makes a cake look pretty when cut, and gives more places to put filling.

Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 25 Jul 2006 , 8:50pm
post #4 of 14

Crisco is just a brand name for Shortening. Crum coating is just a thin coat of frosting you put on your cake to seal in all the crumbs. It's very thin and not pretty. Then you refrigerate to set the frosting. Then you can frost successfully without getting any crumbs in your topcoat. Shortening is just another term for lard.

So where exactly is the back end of the earth?

AshleyLogan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AshleyLogan Posted 25 Jul 2006 , 8:50pm
post #5 of 14

shortening and crisco are the same thing...