Rolled Fondant And Square Cakes

Decorating By tan32 Updated 21 Jul 2006 , 4:23am by tan32

tan32 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tan32 Posted 21 Jul 2006 , 2:54am
post #1 of 5

Does anyone have any last minute suggestions. I have my cakes crumb coated and ready to do fondant tomorrow, for a wedding on saturday. Can I use the crisco method on my rolling pin and mat, with ready to use wilton fondant, or should I use icing sugar? Also any suggestions on how to get the fondant smoothed over the corners and sides without tearing and puckering. This is my first square cake. I hate the rolling out part, it takes forever.

4 replies
dodibug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dodibug Posted 21 Jul 2006 , 3:01am
post #2 of 5

I'm getting ready to try fondant and square cake combo myself. Everything I have read says to do the corners first then smooth around the cake. I'm new to fondant and I have learned that going slow to work the fondant around the cake seems to work best for me to avoid puckering and tears. I also bought rolling pin guides which helps keep me from rolling the fondant too thin (because I certainly couldn't do it on my own!) I always dust my rolling area with powdered sugar-haven't heard of the crisco method!

Too late for this now but have you tried marshmallow fondant (MMF)? It is very easy to make and tastes sooo much better than the wilton stuff.

psurrette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psurrette Posted 21 Jul 2006 , 3:02am
post #3 of 5

You can use Crisco on your surface to keep it from sticking but it doesn't take much. When you do your cake make sure you don't make the fondant too much bigger than the cake. smooth the corners first then the sides. make sure you use the same size cake board as the cake to cover it so it can hand below the cake. Key to keep it from tearing is not to have it too thick or too large.
Good Luck

kae133 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kae133 Posted 21 Jul 2006 , 3:05am
post #4 of 5