Advice Please On Making Figures..

Decorating By sugarmommy Updated 6 Jun 2007 , 1:01pm by renkly

sugarmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarmommy Posted 4 Jun 2007 , 8:42pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all,
I need your expertise please as I'm still very new to decorating and I'm going to attempt figures for the first time.
I was thinking of making animals like moneys, elephants, etc for my son's birthday and I have all sorts of questions:
-should I just make them out of mmf or should I mix gumpaste or straight gumpaste or something else entirely?
-Are they still edible with any of the above combinations?
-how far ahead can I make these little guys?

Any other advice would be great too!

Thanks!! icon_smile.gif

8 replies
imaginecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imaginecakes Posted 4 Jun 2007 , 9:25pm
post #2 of 9

I haven't made a ton of them, but in my opinion MMF is too soft to hold them together, I would try either mixing your Fondant with some GP or straight GP...and how far ahead depends on what you use...I would say at least 48 hours for them to dry! I hope this helps! icon_biggrin.gif

bananaslug14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bananaslug14 Posted 4 Jun 2007 , 10:05pm
post #3 of 9

I would use 50/50 gumpaste-MMF other wise it takes the fondant way longer to dry. and they are still edible but dont taste that great.

-Samantha

P.S. you can make them as far in advance as you like ( they can last for years if you store them carefully )

Delicate-Lee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Delicate-Lee Posted 4 Jun 2007 , 10:59pm
post #4 of 9

Hi sugarmommy!