Please Give Me Instructions On Adding Pudding To Cake Mix!

Decorating By Susieindy Updated 1 Jun 2007 , 6:22pm by CustomCakesBySharon

Susieindy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Susieindy Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:43pm
post #1 of 12

Does adding pudding to a cake mix make the cake firmer in texture? I've never done this before. If so, do you just add the dry pudding to your cake mix and make the cake like normal? Do you use 1 pudding mix per cake mix, or what?

11 replies
pyseas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pyseas Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:48pm
post #2 of 12

Yes, I've noticed my cakes are more dense and easier to handle when I added pudding.

Just add it to the mixer when adding your dry ingredients. I use 1 small instant package per mix.

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:48pm
post #3 of 12

I use the Cake Doctor Book a lot and follow her instructions for adding pudding..... It's a good book for doctored mixes if you don't have it.

jenbenjr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenbenjr Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:50pm
post #4 of 12

Add one box off pudding and an additional egg to each cake. This makes the cake denser and more moist!!

emf7701 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emf7701 Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:51pm
post #5 of 12

i read on cc to add 1 box of pudding and one extra egg(plus all the other stuff the cake mix says to add). chocolate fudge cake with a box of chocolate fudge pudding is sooooooo good! dh drools until i let him have the cake scraps!! icon_lol.gif it doesn't even need icing!

wolfley29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wolfley29 Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:52pm
post #6 of 12

I use the cake extender recipe, and use 2 (3.5 oz) pudding cups to mine. Does it make a difference using the dry pudding versus the pudding cups?

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 5:56pm
post #7 of 12

I only ever heard of using dry instant pudding mix.

MMorales11 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile