Drawing On The Cake

Decorating By Athoora Updated 4 Jun 2007 , 1:47pm by Fishercakes

Athoora Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Athoora Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 2:47pm
post #1 of 12

Hello every one, could you tell me pls what is the easiest and most guranteed way to copy a draw on the cake? I'll cover my cake with fondant, I've read about the way when you copy the draw on parchment paper then trace it with royal icing, when it dries u press it on the cake, out line then fill in, I didn't try it and I'm not sure that the royal icing won't break or fall when I press the cake, and will the details be clear enough? any help is really appreciated. icon_confused.gif

11 replies
cakecastle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecastle Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 3:28pm
post #2 of 12

I'm a newbie decorator, but I've heard alot about (FBCT) frozen buttercream transfer. I'm going to try that before I do my daughter's bday cake in 3 weeks. I did try the piping gel transfer where you print a reverse image and then lay waxed paper on top and trace with piping gel, then lay that on top of the cake and go over it with the decorator brush, remove and fill in with icing. I didn't have a great outcome with that method. I tried it with pooh and all the details of his face didn't show up on the cake (guess I didn't brush it enough). I'm hoping I have better success with the FBCT. I've also heard of a toothpick method where you prick the outline on the cake as you cut away parts of the drawing. Haven't tried it either.

Not sure how the royal icing outline would turn out because I heard it wasn't good to eat since it's very hard and sweet. Good luck!

yvesyong Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yvesyong Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 3:39pm
post #3 of 12

what I learned in a local decoration class is to use compound chocolate. Compound chocolate is chocolate that firms up in room temp.