Wilton Fondant Ribbon Cutter/embosser Set...have One?

Decorating By 2yummy Updated 3 Aug 2008 , 9:31pm by sandykay

2yummy Posted 4 Jul 2006 , 3:50am
post #1 of 23

Does any one have a Wilton Fondant Ribbon Cutter/Embosser Set? I was thinking about getting one, but I don't want to waste $$ if it is no good. Will you let me know your oppinions about the product? Is it a thumbs_up.gif or a thumbsdown.gif ?TIA

http://shop.cakecentral.com/ribbon-cutter-embosser-p-523.html

22 replies
Jasra Posted 4 Jul 2006 , 3:56am
post #2 of 23

I just bought one this weekend and tried it for the first time tonight. I really liked it although I haven't had a chance to try all the disks yet. But I like the fact that I can cut strips of fondant so neatly. I'm really new to all this so anything that makes it easier is fun for me! I used the 40% off coupon for Michaels which helped $$ wise.

Birdlady Posted 4 Jul 2006 , 4:25am
post #3 of 23

Hi All !

I have the wilton cutter. I can honestly say that I don't really like it. As you use it the butterfly nut on the end keeps tightening and it stops rolling. usually at a bad time. It then causes your fondant to rip. I does the job I guess, but you really need to watch it. I have the other ribbon cutter, I think that is is FMM or PME. It is soooo much better. It is a little more expensive, but well worth the money.

HOpe this helps.

Dawn

2yummy Posted 4 Jul 2006 , 4:25am
post #4 of 23

Jasra, Thanks for your post, I am new at this also. I really love it! I looked at your cake pics, they all look awesome!

That is disappointing to hear it doesn't work all of the time, I will have to check out the other brands you mentioned. I am not familair with them.

Anyone else have an oppinion about the product?

Jorre Posted 4 Jul 2006 , 4:57pm
post #5 of 23

I have one and I like it. I don't tighten the butterfly nut much at all, just enough to keep everything from falling off and I have no issues at all.