Hi-Ratio, Which Brand

Decorating By Teekakes Updated 28 Aug 2007 , 3:09pm by Wendoger

Teekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Teekakes Posted 27 May 2007 , 2:30am
post #1 of 37

Do you use or recommend?
I did not realize "Hi-Ratio" shortening was made by a few different companies. I was told by a cake supply expert that hi-ratio is the "type" of shortening, not the brand name so I was a bit icon_redface.gif when I ask him for Hi-Ratio brand shortening and he ask me "which one"!
What I purchased today is from "DDA". I have never used Hi-Ratio before and am anxious to make my first batch of it tomorrow or Monday. I have read so much good about it and those that use it won't use anything else.

36 replies
DesignerCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DesignerCakes Posted 27 May 2007 , 2:56am
post #2 of 37

I tried Alpine brand using a recipe a friend gave me. It didn't crust up for me. I tried making it again and no luck. She uses Sweetex and it crusts up for her without a problem.

I can't get it locally, but next time I'd like to try the Sweetex brand.

Act1Events Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Act1Events Posted 27 May 2007 , 3:04am
post #3 of 37

i use sweetex and its great
still trying to perfect my smoothing technique but it make a great icing

crisseyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crisseyann Posted 27 May 2007 , 3:05am
post #4 of 37

Sweetex is the only brand I've come across locally and it works great.

justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justsweet Posted 27 May 2007 , 3:08am
post #5 of 37

I buy the SYSCO brand but they closed their cash and carry store a few months ago. So now I use bakemark hi ratio, 5lbs, at $26.70. SYSCO is 50lbs for $29.00. It is good for about 12 to 16 months if stored in a cool place. I put mine in the pantry.