Fondant Rolled Roses!

Decorating By rajinaren Updated 26 May 2007 , 2:26pm by mdtargac

rajinaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rajinaren Posted 26 May 2007 , 1:59pm
post #1 of 5

Hi all!
I see that there is a different rose in all the cakes...not the traditional one. It looks like it is rolled and its cute. Can anyone tell me how to do it?

4 replies
NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 26 May 2007 , 2:07pm
post #2 of 5

Here is a link to the way Duff does his...

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-289913.html

And here is a link JanH did on roses. It includes links on how to do the ribbon roses...

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-65833.html

HTH some, Jen

ombaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ombaker Posted 26 May 2007 , 2:09pm
post #3 of 5

I'm not very good at it but you roll a strip of fondant about 1/8 inch thick and 1/2 inch wide. Collette rolls hers wider and then folds it in half. I like that look better. Anyway then you loosely roll it but and pinch the bottom. Play around with the folds a bit to get it to look how you want. It takes practice.

AlamoSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AlamoSweets Posted 26 May 2007 , 2:13pm
post #4 of 5

Cut a strip of MMF wide enough to fold gently in half lenghwise. Do not press the crease. Starting at one end fold over the corner and start rolling. When the rose is the size you want cut or tear the end and slighting force it down. Squeeze the end to make everything stick together and tear off and cut off the extra. If you want you can open the rose by gently pushing and pulling being careful not to squeeze the fold.