1St Attempt At Gum Paste Flowers

Decorating By practiceandpatience Updated 6 Jul 2006 , 1:01am by mgdqueen

practiceandpatience Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
practiceandpatience Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 7:55pm
post #1 of 28

Hi Everyone,
This is my first attempt at gum paste flowers. I tried a couple of different techniques for painting the flowers. First try was vodka and dust, which left the flowers sort of speckled. Then I tried to use dust dry, this seemed to work much better, and gave a softer look. I would appreciate any feedback on what I should change or advice on improvement.
Thank you all so much
Practice and Patience
LL

27 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 7:58pm
post #2 of 28

I've got no help for ya.....if my first flowers turn out half that good, I'll be shocked and amazed, throwin' a party!! I think they're marvelous.

debbie2881 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debbie2881 Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 8:36pm
post #3 of 28

Wow that looks great, cant believe its your first.

bostonterrierlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bostonterrierlady Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 8:38pm
post #4 of 28

Wow. Beautiful.

SheilaF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SheilaF Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 9:22pm
post #5 of 28

Yes. What they said! LOL. I have a class for gumpaste flowers a week from today. I hope mine look as good!

morgiana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morgiana Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 9:25pm
post #6 of 28

Wow, those are lovely! You did gret job!

Kazoot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kazoot Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 9:25pm
post #7 of 28

I have never made gumpaste flowers, just leaves, but my advise is------don't change a thing!!!!!! LOL Those are beautiful!!!!! icon_lol.gif

candyladyhelen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candyladyhelen Posted 1 Jul 2006 , 11:58pm
post #8 of 28

Ok, you lied! They can't be your first!!!! JK
Great job. Very beautiful!

rezzygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile