How Do I Get Mmf To Hold Shape

Decorating By mik_mcd Updated 22 May 2007 , 4:04pm by jeking

mik_mcd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mik_mcd Posted 22 May 2007 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 9

Sorry, I'm sure this is a total newbie question, but that's what I am. How do you make MMF hold a shape without drooping? Is it just a matter of getting it stiff enough?

8 replies
sweetviolent Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetviolent Posted 22 May 2007 , 3:49pm
post #2 of 9

on a cake ??? or modeling with it ?

fooby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fooby Posted 22 May 2007 , 3:49pm
post #3 of 9

Can you explain what you're doing so we can help you out? thanks!

mik_mcd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mik_mcd Posted 22 May 2007 , 3:54pm
post #4 of 9

I don't have a spacific project I'm working on. I've seen cakes with ribons and things that stand on thier own. Just wondering how that's done.
I read another entry that said use gumpaste in the fondant and you have to let it harden. How do you make it stay in shap while it's hadening?
Sorry, I know these are very general questions I'm just not even sure what to ask.

canoewoman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
canoewoman Posted 22 May 2007 , 3:59pm
post #5 of 9

I am also curious on how the modeled figures hold their shape made with mmf. Is there something added so they dry faster and harder?

harrisonsmama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
harrisonsmama Posted 22 May 2007 , 4:01pm
post #6 of 9

Gum thyracinth is added to harden mmf

alliebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alliebear Posted 22 May 2007 , 4:01pm
post #7 of 9

usually suports until its dry enought to take them out ... when you make a bow you can put cottons balls or tissue or something in the "hole" to prop it up untill it dries..

Juliequeen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juliequeen Posted 22 May 2007 , 4:03pm
post #8 of 9