Goldfish Anniversary Cake???

Decorating By SweetSnow Updated 18 May 2007 , 3:50pm by jobartwo

SweetSnow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetSnow Posted 17 May 2007 , 9:14pm
post #1 of 15

Hi there... I am pretty new at cake decorating, but when I do a cake up I usually get a pretty cool cake out if it all icon_biggrin.gif . So I was asked by some friends to do their parents 50th anniversary cake but I wanted to do something off the wall but still kinda traditional for these traditional people. I came up with adding a small bowl with a goldfish to the tiers of cake to add height... going with the golden anniversary theme I thought this was pretty neat and different... but now the time is ticking and I have simple weeks to get this done and I am now panicing icon_cry.gif about how to go about doing this.. if anyone has ANY ideas AT ALL on how I could do this PLEASE let me know... thumbs_up.gif

14 replies
CakesbyMonica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyMonica Posted 17 May 2007 , 9:30pm
post #2 of 15

a LIVE goldfish? I would question the sanitation of that, and for the health of the fish. Like those purses and shoes and plants with goldfish in them. How about an elegant blue tiered cake with fancy gold goldfish (the ones that look like bettas) around it?

CakesbyMonica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyMonica Posted 17 May 2007 , 11:44pm
post #3 of 15

Sorry same person, different idea. What if you did one of those mosiacs/ stained glass with the kois on them style on the cake. That would be very elegant and kois are very shiny. Perhaps a little lustre dust to show them off more?

heavenlyfire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heavenlyfire Posted 17 May 2007 , 11:47pm
post #4 of 15